When user checks out the document and checks it in, he/she creates a new version which is stored in the document history. Previous version can be rolled back if you make any mistake.
An integrated archiving solution is provided by Asta Content Server. The deleted document is only archived. It doesn’t appear on the website but you can restore it at anytime from the recycle bin.